Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 15th, 2009

I fetched the mutton from the butchers/abattoir today.  We opt for the slaughter and basic cut, then we take it from there, packing ourselves etc. So, when the nice man brought out two gert great sacks of meat, and told me it ‘turned out good’, meaning lots of fat, and I dragged it to the car and from the car to the kitchen.

Must remember to add ‘weight lifting’ to the list next time a nurse asks me if I get any exercise. It said on the label.. 48… which I assume is the kill out weight.. oops. and she was on a diet too..

Then I had to find bags big enough – for which we were ill prepared – bread bags work well on lamb, but mutton joints, even halved.. are huge. Particularly if they come with an inch or two of fat. But it’s in the  freezer now, the chops sorted into meals worth, the joints labeled.

 Just have to try it now.

Read Full Post »